News Flash


Posted on: April 10, 2019


Committee falls under the TSA and the Department of Homeland Security

Newport News City Councilwoman Dr. Patricia P. “Pat” Woodbury has been appointed to the new Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee of the Transportation Security Administration. The STSAC reports to TSA Administrator David Pekoske and makes recommendations on surface transportation security matters, including the development, refinement, and implementation of policies, programs, initiatives, rulemakings, and security directives. The appointment is for a two-year term and appointees may serve until the Administrator names a successor.

Dr. Woodbury said, “I am deeply honored to be selected to represent the National League of Cities on the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee. I look forward to the challenge of serving on this critically important board to address the many issues of security that our country faces in transportation.”

In making the announcement of the committee members Pekoske said, “I look forward to collaborating closely with the newly appointed members of the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee. The knowledge and expertise these leaders bring to the table will play a vital role in TSA’s continued efforts to safeguard the nation’s surface transportation systems.”

Woodbury is one of 35 voting members of the STSAC representing various areas of surface transportation including mass transit, passenger rail, freight rail, pipeline, infrastructure, motor carrier, over-the-road bus, school bus industry and users. The committee also has 14 nonvoting members who serve in an advisory capacity and are from federal departments and agencies with regulatory authority over surface transportation modes.

In addition to serving on the STSAC and the Newport News City Council, Dr. Woodbury also serves on the Transportation District Commission of Hampton Roads (governing body of HRT); the Virginia Transit Association Board of Directors; and on the Executive Board of the Virginia Municipal League as immediate Past President. She has previously served on the Newport News School Board, Sister Cities of Newport News Board of Directors, WHRO Board of Directors, and the Virginia Living Museum Board of Trustees. Dr. Woodbury has been a member of the Newport News City Council since 2008.

See a listing of all Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee members.

Visit the TSA website to learn more about the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

ARTech Lights Rescheduled for February 7

Posted on: January 13, 2020