Comprehensive Plan Citizen Advisory Committee


The Comprehensive Plan Citizen Advisory Committee (CPCAC) is a team representing the residents, businesses, neighborhoods, community organizations, educational institutions, and other stakeholders in Newport News. Appointed by the Planning Commission, the CPCAC will assist and guide Planning staff in developing the comprehensive plan. They will also review progress made on recommendations from the 2008 “Framework for the Future” to identify strategies and implementation actions to include in the plan update; develop a new vision statement, goals, and objectives; establish means to streamline the document and make it more user friendly; and provide direction for and input to the implementation matrix.

CPCAC members are listed below:

Deirdre Wells, Chairman Jonathan Skinner, Vice-Chairman John Allen, III
Phil Bomersheim Dr. Saundra Cherry Dr. John Dawson
Trip Ferguson Sharyn Fox Susan Gaston
Jan Gray Steve Groce Rodney Hopkins
Jim Kelly Christine Ledford Joe Leming
Cleon Long Diana LoVecchio Allie Loving
Chris Morello Michael Minarik Michael Poplawski
Sandra Powell Dawn Simonds Nathan Sturre
Veronica Weymouth Telly Whitfield Beth Willis
Jeffrey Wilson    


Committee meetings are open to the public; however, meetings do not allow time for public comment.  Instead, comment cards will be provided at each meeting to capture questions, comments, and ideas for CPCAC consideration.
Staff is working on a schedule to present the draft plan to the community this summer.  One meeting will be scheduled in each Council voting district.  

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas will be posted approximately one week prior to a CPCAC meeting.  Meeting summaries will be available following CPCAC review and approval.
Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes